Days of Witchery: 1. What’s Your Witchy Background?

The Picture is Copyrighted to brandrificus at DeviantArt

I remember when I was a child, standing on the balcony with a lit match in my hand, praying to the moon. This was my first taste of the pagan world and religion at all. But at this time I was also a scout in the Salvation Army and sang in the State Church, so I was really exposed to christianity. As I started second stage of Compulsory School (age 13-16), the only people who deemed me interesting enough to socialize with, were the christian girls in the class. So obviously they’re were the ones I hang out with.

During my time as christian, I always looked back at my pagan faith and longed back to it, one way or another. I alway prayed to “the Father”, almost never to Jesus. My christian faith felt false, and I hated the feeling of hypocrisy that came over me every time I “acted” christian.

Finally, in 2009, I renounced my christian faith. I still have friends in my old christian community and they accept me. They’re sad about my renouncement, and they still hope I’ll change my mind, but they don’t preach and we’re still friends.  I didn’t go directly from christianity to my current pagan faith, though it wasn’t far from it.

When I came to Gotland and my university, my faith started to grow. I was randomly pagan at first, and then I had my nose in both some kind of buddhism and satanism before arriving to where I am today, about to open up and let everyone know where I stand.

I am perhaps not truly wiccan, but I am an Eclectic Pagan and pray to the God and the Goddess.

So here you have my kind of witchy background, hope you found it interesting, I know I didn’t.. XD

Blessed Be

 

2 Comments

  1. September 1, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    Wonderfully written, dear 🙂


Leave a Reply

