Goddess of the Week: Brighid

 

Lady Brighid

Lady Brighid of the Bards 
Blessed Fire of Inspiration 
Spark the flames within our hearts
Lead our creative exploration
Lady Brighid hear our song
As we give offerings of praise 
Let your blessings make us strong
that we may serve you all our days

Brighid’s name means Bright Arrow, and She is the Goddess of goddess of fire (the forge and the hearth), poetry, healing, childbirth, and unity. The Sabbat Imbolc coincides with Brighid’s Day, and she is therefore the most celebrated goddess during this sabbat.

Brighid is the daughter of the Dagda, and she was later turned to a christian saint, St. Brigid, by the church. She had two sisters, also named Brighid, and so is a Triple Goddess.

For more information about this wonderful Goddess that I find myself coming back to, look at this british website dedicated to Her;

Brighid

Blessed Be

4 Comments

  1. Asynja said,

    September 6, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    Det finns faktiskt i Sverige en plats helgad åt Brigid. Det är en liten dröm jag har att hålla en Imbolcceremoni där någon gång…

    • Vaettr said,

      September 6, 2011 at 11:58 pm

      Ååh, var någonstans? 😀

      • Asynja said,

        September 7, 2011 at 1:43 pm

        Kapelludden på Ölands östra kust. Där ligger ruinerna av S:t Brigidas kapell. Visserligen byggdes kapellet åt det kristna helgonet Brigida (himmel, det hade jag faktiskt glömt jag har tänkt på Brigida som en gudinna så länge och kristendommen “adopterade” väl henne och gjorde helgon av henne, som med så många andra gudinnor och gudar).
        Nu var det länge sedan jag hörde historien, men jag har för mig att ett skepp kom i nöd och så tog de sig till stranden och klarade sig och tackade Brigid med ett kapell. Besättningen var väl från den kulturen. Kanske hade skickat böner till Brigid medan de kämpade mot ovädret…

      • Vaettr said,

        September 7, 2011 at 2:49 pm

        Ooh, ja precis det gjorde de, som flera andra gudomar. Låter spännande, måste nästan kolla upp det. Bor ju på Gotland och färjan till Öland går inte i år. Men kanske nästa sommar tar jag mig en tur dit.. ^^


Leave a Reply

