Days of Witchery: 14. A Favorite Pagan Holiday You Celebrate.

Video from TheShoeWhisperer about Mabon

Embarrassingly enough, I haven’t actually celebrated a pagan holiday yet. I’ve been too much of a coward. I was really close to celebrate Imbolc, but chickened out for some reason. I wasn’t as open with my spirituality, even with myself, as I am now. I am celebrating Mabon with a group of people on the 25th now though. It’s the local esoteric shop that is organizing it. So it’ll be the shopkeepers (one of which is a High Priestess of Avalon) and some other people I know from being in the shop pretty much all the time.

They use to have open celebrations that you’re charged about 30 dollars for. Lammas was a close circle but now they have an open one for Mabon. We’ll be about 6 people celebrating in a currently secret place. We’ll get to know the details closer to the actual holiday. I’m both nervous and excited, but I love the people I’m celebrating with so I just need to trust in them and the God and Goddess and everything will be just fine.

I will take with me either camera or video-camera and post that here.

How are you going to celebrate Mabon?

Blessed Be, Vaettr

8 Comments

  1. millan said,

    September 14, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    dom hittar jag på tumblr :] mitt virtuella liv sedan ett par år!

  2. Miiiin said,

    September 15, 2011 at 11:22 am

    Åh så spännande att fira högtid i grupp! Jag har alltid firat ensam med egna ritualer, men hade gärna provat att fira i grupp också… är för feg dock, är så rädd att dom andra ska vara på en helt annan nivå än mig… eller nått, jag vet inte. Håller mig för mig själv helt enkelt, bäst så 😉 Har ännu inte funderat på hur jag ska fira mer i detalj… kanske borde planera snart, mabon närmar sig med stormsteg! ^^ Hoppas ditt firande blir perfekt 🙂

    Väl mött och kraam!

    • Vaettr said,

      September 15, 2011 at 12:38 pm

      Ja, det ska bli jätteroligt. Jag har samma rädslor som du, men tänkte att det var dags att sktia i dem… ^^

  3. Diandra said,

    September 15, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    There are many simple ways to at least have a small (and non-frightening 😉 )celebration – invite friends, prepare special food, leave an offering for the gods. Go for a walk, meditate, redecorate your altar, … – it does not have to be anything fancy. Oh, but make sure you are focused – a few years ago I almost set our house on fire: I had baked an offering for the return of the sungod for winter solstice, which I left in my room in the attic for the night, intending to burn it the next day (in the woods), and that night our roof caught fire… I still suspect that my intention of “burning this offer for the gods” was not as focused as it should have been. ^^

    • Vaettr said,

      September 15, 2011 at 6:47 pm

      Right, focus it is then.. XD I certainly don’t want to happen to me!

  4. Asynja said,

    September 16, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    I haven’t given it much thought yet I must admit. Some decorations from the forest on my altar, and a blackberry pie is the plan.
    No ritual since I’m having a kind of “ritual break” 😛 at the moment.
    I may meditate for a while.

    • Vaettr said,

      September 16, 2011 at 11:54 pm

      I don’t think any way is the wrong way, as long as it feels like the right way.. And now I’ve confused myself. Note to myself, never try to sound philosophical…


Leave a Reply

