Days of Witchery: 15. Thoughts on the Afterlife?

Life.

The world, the earth, Mother Earth is living.

Not just photosynthesis and biological cycles but Mother Earth IS.

Not truly active and deciding like the christian God, but passive and sentinent.

Not just mud and grass, but not actively participating either.

Moving and still at the same time.

Like a sphere physically made out of water.

It’s a sphere, a ball, not fixed and unchanging. But variable and ever changing.

We humans (and other beings) are like dolphins.

Our lives are the jumps the dolphins make. 

We are active, independent to engage in life to later go back to the whole, the passive world that IS.

~Vaettr

So, this is a little something I wrote to describe the way I see life and living (and dying) to myself. It’s not really about the afterlife, but it goes together with it. I don’t believe in heaven or hell. Neither do I really believe in Nirvana or Hel and Valhalla.

I truly believe in the Circle of Life. We live and die, taking and giving from the earth. In a perfect world that I hope for, reincarnation exists. If reincarnation doesn’t happen, then we will go back to Mother Earth as a whole. A beautiful compost pile, even though that isn’t a pretty picture. It’s how I see it though. I hope for reincarnation, but it truly doesn’t matter does it?

I want to believe in reincarnation because of some human fear of dying. But the point is moot since if I were to die and reincarnate I would not remember it. The awareness I have now will go away and turn into a new person, a new reality and awareness. My spirit and soul will be the same perhaps, but nothing else.

I still like the thought of being reincarnated, but not across species like in Hinduism. My favorite book series are about reincarnation. I’ll do a post about that another day though…

Blessed Be

Leave a Reply

