First Guestblogger: The Robin

This is the first guestblogging on my blog and the writer is a good friend of mine, who wishes to remain anonymous, therefore they’re using the name Robin. Enjoy!

I sincerely believe I don’t have anything interesting enough to write about, but being friends with Vaettr means that I constantly hear things like “you should write a guest entry in my blog”, “you could blog about that”, “blog bloggie blogblog”. And Vaettr is a pretty damn good friend, and I thrive on making other people happy, so here we go.

I’m also in the closet. Not the broom kind (pretty sure here), or the gay kind (not quite as sure here), or any commonly defined kind of closet. I am a scientist who hides her strong desire of magic to be real. I believe in math, physics, long academic texts full of references, and tell everyone thats -all- I believe.

I also know that if there was an article in Nature, or any other as reputable journal, showing a mathematical proof of magic, I would drop my science career in an instant to become a witch.

I don’t believe in ghosts, but I find the thought so intriguing. I don’t like tarot cards, only because my friend own a deck that seems to hate me. I don’t think spells or prayers work at all, but I constantly chant mantras loud when I’m alone. I don’t believe in prophetic dreams or spirit guardians, but I constantly meet up with my lovely animus in dreams, because hey, that’s science!

Why can’t I just tell people, “Sure, I’m a scientist, but I find this new age thingie SO interesting?”. Easy answer; I’m afraid to open up and admit it. The difficult question is “Why am I so afraid of that?”. I think I know the answer to that question as well, but it is just too frightening to say out loud. Better just discuss it with my animus, then do nothing.

So, lovely people reading this blog, how did you find the courage to acknowledge your beliefs and tell people about it? Because I’m stumped here.

Oh, I’m a buddhist as well. But only online when I’m anonymous.

Signed, The Robin

 

2 Comments

  1. Diandra said,

    September 19, 2011 at 9:30 am

    Many witches I know do have a strong love for all things scientific, and it does not appear to hinder their love for their witchy paths at all. It appears that on some levels they go together really well. (I do love science, too, but I am not always good at it. I suck at maths and at the formular-related physics stuff, but I was great at biology and chemistry and love working at a medical translator, and I watch “The Big Bang Theory” religiously. ^^ )

    I’d say there is no need to climb on a box and make a statement such as, “I do believe in magic and fairies” (or any other kind of statement people might ridicule you for). Try to live it and see what happens. I hardly ever talk about witchy stuff in my daily life, except when people ask about something. The rest of the time, I just try to live witchy and set good examples, and maybe get people curious enough to ask and perhaps follow, if it is their path.

  2. Miiiin said,

    September 19, 2011 at 10:48 am

    I’m a scientist with biology as my main subject so every day I have to deal with the struggle between my science side and my beliefs. It is hard, but I can deal with it. The hard thing is to explain to other people how I do, because some of them are believers like me, but some are just scientists who believe in what can be mesured and seen. When I started to telling about my faith to my surrounding I did it slowly, to test it, you know. To see how they would react. Most the reaction where okay, some not. I still haven’t told what I believe in to everyone I know, after seven years… sometimes it’s just not the time yet. When I tell people I don’t simply say “Hey, I’m a witch!” – that doesn’t work. Maby they see my altar at home and ask about it, or maby whe talks about a God and I tell them that I believe in a Godess as well… you don’t have to tell everything at once (depending on who you talk to). A lot of people are really interesting in what i believe and ask a lot of questions – most of them think that my believes and my relgion is just as right as anyone else.


Leave a Reply

