Tip of my Tongue

All the talk about the shopkeeper and me not being at the Imbolc ritual had me remembering the Mabon ritual I attended. I loved it and it was wonderful, but there was one thing there I didn’t really believe in or felt comfortable with, even though I cried when it happened. There was a certain word she used describing it, what it was. During the ritual she went away and sat under a tree by a large slab of stone, and she was, for lack of better words, “possessed” by the Goddess. She lent her body to the Goddess so we could talk directly to her and she to us. It was a strong feeling, but I was still uncomfortable with it, and when something doesn’t feel good, you shouldn’t do it, right?

So what I’m asking is, what was this she did and was I right to be uncomfortable with it?

Blessed Be,

Vaettr

6 Comments

  1. jalizarose said,

    February 22, 2012 at 5:39 pm

    That’s difficult to say not being there. I feel like I would probably have responded the same as you, but have my doubts. It’s one of those things that just can’t be explained.
    If it felt like a “show” ??

    • Vaettr said,

      February 22, 2012 at 5:48 pm

      A bit, yes. She didn’t know me very well, she only kinda knew I was struggling with my faith, so even then she or “the goddess” spoke about finding my path and not being afraid of it.

  2. Diandra said,

    February 23, 2012 at 10:17 am

    This is something only you can decide for yourself. I have heard of “drawing down the moon”, which is, I suppose, what she did, but I have never witnessed or attempted it myself. I mean, once I had a bargain with a goddess which included lending my body to her for something… *ahem*… but I think that was something completely different, because it was very personal.

    There are many different paths, and only you can find out which is right for you and which isn’t. If you are uncomfortable with something, address it with the group, and if you are working with a bunch of good people, you will find a way to work around it.

    • Vaettr said,

      February 24, 2012 at 12:43 am

      That was the only thing I was uncomfortable with, and I haven’t been on a ritual since then. And since it’s the shop organizing it and it costs money to attend, I wasn’t sure if it was ok to say something, so I just went with the flow I guess. The meditation part was wonderful though.

  3. pearlsandpentagrams said,

    February 23, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    In my tradition it’s called aspecting. The person is still in control, so not a true possession, but acts as a conduit and interpreter. Other traditions refer to it by other names, but it is not uncommon. It can be a little unsettling at first, but it can also be quite beautiful.

    • Vaettr said,

      February 24, 2012 at 12:41 am

      It sounds like what that was, but I don’t think that was the word she used. I get the word enbodiment in my head, but I don’t think that was the one either.. :S


Leave a Reply

